“A Glitch in the Matrix”

You don’t wanna hear about my problems
So I tell you I’m doing awesome
Every time you see me secretly seething
The prison industrial complex
Wants to detain me for my life span
My psych eval says I was a happy kid
But there ain’t any photos of me smiling
The truth is somewhere in between
The bullshit the pain and the violence
I lived over three decades with these demons
Shadows I bear is it genetic
Or a side effect of oppression
I’m the one who asks questions
When they say there’s no discussion
My light cannot be extinguished
I keep striving I keep pushing

“Do you wanna take a ride
Down an inner path
Channel that wrath
I can hear you scream ♪

Have you ever felt
That you’re a glitch in the matrix
That maybe you don’t belong here
So strong willed
When everyone else is a sheep” ♪

I was born in a field of dreams
But live on a street of nightmares
So many times they tried to tempt me
To give up and throw in my hand
My stare is defiant
Been to solitary confinement
They ask for my secrets
But I give them silence
Will they ever let me free
Yes No Maybe
Please circle One
Oh you don’t play them games?
Well I don’t either
Every time you see me
Underneath I’m seething
The prison industrial complex
Wants to detain me
Until I’m not breathing

Leave a comment